‘Holy’ Boots!

I’ve achieved it!!  ‘Holy’ boots!!!

In November of 2009, when I got called to upstate New York, one of the first things I was told was how bitter cold the winter’s were here.  It’s proven true.  So, I went out and bought a really long puffy coat.  I may look like a burnt marshmallow but that’s okay.  I was fortunate enough to find a hand-me-down pair of boots when I got here from a Sister left and has long since gone home.  They’re great.  Kept my feet warm and dry.  Until a couple of weeks ago…  I’ve worn them well and I’ve worn them out.

We had been walking.  And walking, and walking, and walking.  If you ever see us, it’s probably as we’re walking.  We are doing our best to follow the Spirit and find people who are prepared to hear the message we bear.

It was a particularly rainy day when I noticed the holes.  We’d just finished talking to someone who was…quite intoxicated actually, about prayer.   We meet a lot of different people everywhere we go; people from all races, countries, backgrounds and faiths.  Sometimes we even play a game, ‘Who’s on the other side” as we knock door to door.  Most the time, I’m way off, haha.  But I love this aspect of our work.

I feel like I’ve landed into one of my favorite books.  I do have shoes on my feet.  I do know what I know.  We do look over streets with great care trying to feel (by the Spirit) if we should go there. The bang-ups and hang-ups certainly happen, but I cannot stop.  There are waiting places, people waiting to be found; we don’t have to be lost or alone.  Our success can be 100% guaranteed, not only 98 3/4% as we learn what true.

My name is Sister Wilkinson, I’m off to great places, and you can be too!

P.S.  If you have served a mission try to put yourself in this story.  It’s kinda neat!

2 responses to this post.

  1. hey sis is so awesome i like it….. sis you so good on make those things in your blog hey keep it up sis is so great…. I love you!!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by ericka on March 15, 2011 at 2:07 am

    Thats awesome! You should print that pic and frame it… seriously its a testimony of so many things in this Gospel. You guys are the best… keep up the good work. As my brother told me before my mission. “You have a year and a half to truely serve the Lord and our brothers and sisters and the rest of your life to think about it!”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

